Scottish university and college open days 2017

We've pulled together a list of dates for college and university undergraduate open days in Scotland. The list is shown in alphabetical order.

Remember - lots of universities and colleges ask you to book in advance, so click through to the college or university for more information on how to attend. 

You can use our advice to help plan your visits, too. You can also attend your local HE Exhibition.

University of Aberdeen

  • Open days: Saturday 17 June (medicine only), Saturday 26 August and Saturday 21 October

Abertay University

  • Open days: Saturday 21 October and Wednesday 8 November
  • Campus tours: Guided campus tours take place on Tuesdays at 12 noon

University of Dundee

  • Dentistry open day: Friday 16 June
  • Undergraduate open day: Monday 28 August
  • Art, design and architecture undergraduate open days: Wednesday 1 November-Thursday 2 November
  • Postgraduate open day: Wednesday 8 November

University of Edinburgh

  • Undergraduate open days: Friday 9 June, Saturday 23 September, Saturday 7 October
  • The university also offers campus visits for student groups, and tours of the university

Edinburgh Napier University

Open days:

  • Sighthill campus: Monday 12 June, 10am-3pm
  • Craiglockhart campus: Wednesday 14 June, 10am-3pm
  • Merchiston campus: Friday 16 June, 10am-3pm
  • All campus open day: Saturday 14 October

Campus tours are also run throughout the year.

University of Glasgow

  • Open days: Thursday 15 June, Wednesday 30 August and Saturday 21 October
  • Dumfries: Friday 23 June, Thursday 7 September and Saturday 28 October
  • You can also book a place on a campus tour, which take place throughout the year

Glasgow Caledonian University

  • Undergraduate open days: Friday 1 September 10am-3pm and Saturday 7 October 11am-3pm
  • Postgraduate and part-time open days: Thursday 24 August 4pm-7pm and Wednesday 15 November 3pm-7pm

Glasgow School of Art

  • Undergraduate open day: Thursday 26 October
  • Graduate open day: Saturday 25 November
  • Open days are regularly held at the School of Simulation and Visualisation

Heriot-Watt University

Edinburgh campus 

  • Open days: Saturday 30 September 10am-4pm and Friday 27 October 10am-4pm

Scottish Borders campus

  • Open days: Saturday 7 October and Friday 17 November

You can also arrange individual visits to both campuses.

University of the Highlands and Islands

Department of Nursing, Inverness

  • Open evenings: Wednesday 7 June 5.30pm, Saturday 30 September 11am, Wednesday 13 December 5.30pm and Wednesday 10 January 5.30pm

Department of nursing, Stornoway campus, Western Isles Hospital

  • Open day: Thursday 16 November 11am-3pm

Highland Theological College UHI

  • Open day: October (date tbc)

Inverness College UHI

  • Open days: Tuesday 30 May 5pm-7pm, Tuesday 8 August 5pm-7pm and Saturday 26 August 10am-3pm (Higher education)

Lews College UHI

  • Open day: Tuesday 18 April 11am-2pm

Moray College UHI

  • Open days: Wednesday 14 June 5pm-6.30pm and Saturday 11 November 11am-2pm

North Highland College UHI

  • Campus tours are offered all year round

Perth College UHI

  • Open day: Wednesday 11 October 2pm-6pm

Scottish Association for Marine Science UHI

  • Open day: Friday 3 November 1.30pm-4.30pm

West Highland College UHI

  • Open days: Saturday 4 November 11am-3pm and Saturday 28 April 2018 11am-3pm (both Fort William)
  • Campus visits are also offered all year round

Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh

  • Postgraduate virtual open evening: Wednesday 26 April
  • Undergraduate open days: Thursday 31 August and Saturday 30 September

Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen

  • Open days: Saturday 2 September 10am-3pm and Wednesday 11 October 10am-3pm
  • Visit afternoons for undergraduate students are also taking place on 12 April, 21 June and 29 November 

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

  • School of music: Friday 9 June
  • Summer open day: Friday 18 August
  • Production and screen: Friday 6 October
  • Drama: Friday 20 October
  • Modern ballet: Friday 3 November

SRUC Aberdeen campus

  • Open evening: Wednesday 24 May, drop-in from 4pm to 8pm
  • Clearing open evening: For courses with places still available starting in September, Wednesday 16 August, drop-in from 4pm to 8pm
  • Open afternoons: Wednesday 4 October 1.30pm-4pm, Saturday 28 October 1.30pm-4pm and Wednesday 15 November 1.30pm-4pm

SRUC Ayr campus

  • Open evenings: Wednesday 7 June, Wednesday 20 September, Wednesday 22 November
  • Clearing open afternoon: Wednesday 9 August
  • Open afternoons: Wednesday 11 October, Wednesday 21 February 2018 and Wednesday 28 March 2018

SRUC Barony campus

  • Clearing open day: Thursday 10 August, 10am-4pm (for courses with places still available for a 2017 start)
  • Agriculture open days: Tuesday 10 October 4pm-7pm, Thursday 9 November 10am-2pm, Thursday 7 December 10am-2pm
  • Animal care open days: Tuesday 10 October 4pm-7pm and Thursday 16 November, 10am-4pm
  • Engineering open days: Tuesday 10 October 4pm-7pm and Wednesday 22 November 10am-4pm
  • Forestry/Arboriculture open days: Tuesday 10 October 4pm-7pm and Monday 6 November, 10am-4pm
  • Veterinary nursing open days: Tuesday 26 September 10am-4pm and Monday 11 December 10am-4pm

SRUC Edinburgh campus

  • Environment taster day: Wednesday 10 May 5pm-7.30pm
  • Drop-in open evenings: Wednesday 24 May 5pm-6.30pm and 6pm-7.30pm
  • Horticulture and garden design taster day: Tbc
  • Clearing open day: Thursday 10 August, 4pm-7pm
  • Open days: Saturday 2 September 10.30am-1pm, Wednesday 4 October 2pm-5pm and Wednesday 22 November 2pm to 5pm

SRUC Elmwood campus

  • Clearing open evening: Wednesday 16 August 5pm-7pm
  • Open evenings: Wednesday 4 October 5pm-7pm, Thursday 16 November 5pm-7pm and Thursday 15 February 2018 5pm-7pm

SRUC Oatridge campus

  • Open days: Sunday 23 April 2pm-4pm, Monday 14 August 1.30pm-4pm, Thursday 5 October 5pm-7pm and Friday 24 November 1.30pm-4pm

University of St Andrews

  • Visiting days: Wednesday 27 September, Wednesday 4 October, Wednesday 18 October, Wednesday 25 October, Wednesday 1 November
  • You can also arrange a talk and tour if you're unable to attend a visiting day

University of Stirling

  • Open days: Saturday 17 June 9am-4pm, Saturday 16 September 9am-4pm, Saturday 28 October 9am-4pm

University of Strathclyde

  • Open days: Tuesday 5 September, Saturday 7 October

University of the West of Scotland

Ayr campus

  • Open days: Saturday 30 September 11am-1pm and Wednesday 4 October 4pm-7pm

Dumfries campus

  • Open days: Wednesday 6 September 4pm-7pm and Saturday 4 November 11am-1pm

Hamilton campus

  • Open days: Wednesday 20 September 4pm-7pm and Saturday 28 October 11am-1pm

Paisley campus

  • Open day: Wednesday 27 September 4pm-7pm and Saturday 7 October 11am-1pm